Poetry Contest

Congratulations to the winners of our
1st Annual Poetry Contest


Sponsored by

Grove logo


Pearl Morales, 8th “Let There Be Light

Kira Dunnican, 8th “Celestial Love Letters of Hope

Heron Boyd, 6th “My Hope


Jacqueline Rogers, 5th “Out of Darkness

Natalie Lindgren, 3rd “Hope

Anahi Rios, 4th “Hopes to Make the World a Better Place


Poems were judged by our Teen Artists in Residence:

Eileen Huang is a student at Holmdel High School and a National Student Poet. In her role, she acts as a literary ambassador for her region, hosting workshops and readings in her community as part of a yearlong community  service effort.

Madelyn Monaghan is a student in the Writing & Democracy Honors Program at the New School. She graduated from the American Musical & Dramatic Academy and has worked professionally as an actress.

Vivian Parkin DeRosa is a student at Communications High School with an intense love for books, which inevitably led to a passion for writing.


Thank you to all who participated! Check back in March 2017 when we announce the theme of our 2nd Annual Poetry Contest.

“A great poem can move you, shake you, and remind you what it means to be human.”

To celebrate National Poetry Month, Project Write Now is hosting a poetry contest for Monmouth County students in grades 1 through 8. Our goal is to inspire young writers and to spread the joy of writing and sharing poetry.

For our inaugural year, we invite you to infuse the theme of HOPE in your verse. Play by the rules of rhythm and rhyme or break them in clever or meaningful ways.

Poems should run no longer than two pages.

Please email your poem to submit@projectwritenow.org with the title of your poem in the subject line.

Also include the following information:

  1.   Your Name
  2.   Your Address
  3.   Your School
  4.   Your Grade
  5.   Your Email Address & Phone Number
  6.   Your Original Poem

Or send your poem through the mail (postmarked on or before May 31):

Project Write Now
25 Bridge Ave., Suite 130
Red Bank, NJ 07701

The contest runs from April 1, 2016, through May 31, 2016 (midnight, EST).

Eligibility: The Poetry Contest is open to all students in Monmouth County enrolled in grades 1 through 8 (including home-schooled and tutored children). Poems must be the original work of the contestant and not previously published.

Contest Dates: April 1, 2016, through May 31, 2016 (midnight, EST)

Selection: Poems will be judged on originality, creativity, and adherence to theme of Hope. Poems will be judged by a panel of high school poets.

Winners will be selected in three categories (grades 1-2; 3-5; and 6-8). Winners will be notified through email and/or phone on or before June 15, 2016. Winning poems will be published in our online literary magazine, which launch in the fall. We will also invite the winners to a special reading of their poems at the Grove in June.

In addition, your poem may be one selected for display throughout The Grove in Shrewsbury. We will notify you if your poem will be displayed.

Prizes: 1st place in each category wins a cash prize of $100; 2nd place wins $50; and 3rd place wins $25. Each winner also receives a Certificate of Achievement.

Fees: There are no entry fees. No purchase necessary or financial obligation.

Copyrights: The author retains all copyrights to the submitted poem.  Winning poems will appear on this website with the copyright notice intact and may be published in a forthcoming anthology. By entering the contest, you consent to the publication of your poem if it is selected as a winning entry for the grade division.

Privacy Policy: Project Write Now collects personal information for the purpose of notifying contest winners.  All information submitted is kept in confidence, and used solely for notification purposes and shall not be made public by Project Write Now. Project Write Now does not lease, sell, or share personal information collected.

Legalities: No purchase necessary.  Void where prohibited.  Sponsored by Project Write Now. All rights reserved. All information provided herein pertains to the 2016 contest. This information may update or change for future contests.